Birchbox June 2016 | Review

Birchbox June 2016

One of the things I was really excited about moving to the US were all the brands of makeup I could try and the wonderful beauty boxes I could surprise myself with every month. When I got my first ever Ipsy Glam bag I was super excited and the products amazed me. The next thing to do was to wait for my Birchbox to arrive. I do understand that this review is going up rather late but I got my June Birchbox in July. I was travelling from 30th June till 5th July and I was hoping that I could at least see the box, sadly it came late and when I was on vacation.

Birchbox June 2016

Birchbox June 2016

My First Birchbox | June 2016

Despite the disappointment of not seeing my Birchbox on time I was excited to play with the products. Birchbox was also running a promo last month wherein subscribers received an additional product and I received the Pixi Mesmerizing Mineral Palette in Copper Peach. I received a total of 5 products including one makeup product.

Birchbox June 2016

  • Ardency Inn MODSTER Smooth Ride Supercharged Eyeliner Black (Full Size – $20)
  • Dr Jart+ Every Sun Day SPF 30 UV Sun Fluid (Full Size – $34)
  • Kiehl’s Precision Lifting and Pore-Tightening Concentrate (Full Size – $64)
  • Oribe Supershine Moisturizing Cream (Full Size – $49)
  • Whish Shave Crave with Vitamin K (Full Size – $24)
  • Pixi Mesmerizing Mineral Palette in Copper Peach (Additional Product – $12)

Birchbox June 2016

Birchbox June 2016

Birchbox is priced at $10 per month and I received 2 full size makeup products, which on its own totals $32 which is way more than the price of the box itself. Hit & hit.

Let’s have a brief look at the products.

Ardency Inn MODSTER Smooth Ride Supercharged Eyeliner Black (Full Size)

This was one product I wasn’t sure what the brand was called till I read the product description card and the name is quite a mouthful. The eyeliner is not the blackest but definitely super smooth and lasts long. In the swatch I have tried to smudge the bottom half and it barely budged. In fact I forgot to remove the swatch from my hand and it lasted all night though it did fade a bit.

Birchbox June 2016 Ardency Inn Modster Smooth Ride Supercharged Eyeliner Black

Dr. Jart+ Every Sun Day SPF 30 UV Sun Fluid (Sample Size)

This sun fluid is very light and has a watery gel like texture which dissolves into the skin super easily. It also leaves behind a mild cooling sensation and a matt powdery feel. The sunscreen has a very mild fragrance which smells refreshing. Definitely a great product and I am definitely considering picking up the full size product.

Birchbox June 2016 Dr Jart+ UV Sun Fluid

Kiehl’s Precision Lifting and Pore-Tightening Concentrate (Sample Size)

I have tried a sample of this product earlier and I quite liked it. The product claims to – Visibly Lifts Facial Skin – Tightens and Reduces Pores, Lines and Wrinkles – Re-defines Facial Contours. For someone like me who doesn’t like to have their pores look prominent this is a perfect product.

Birchbox June 2016 Kiehl's Precision Lifting & Pore Tightening Concentrate

Oribe Supershine Moisturizing Cream (Sample Size)

This is a cherry fragranced hair cream that can be used on damp hair before using a hair dryer. It is the perfect product to have in my vacation bag.

Birchbox June 2016 Oribe Supershine Moisturuzing Cream

Whish Shave Crave with Vitamin K (Sample Size)

Last but not the least this was a product I wasn’t very keen on. For starters the shaving cream has a weird smell and also because I wished I had received another makeup product instead. Either way I need to try this product before I make up my mind on whether I like it or not.

Birchbox June 2016 Whish Shave Cream

Summary

Overall my first every Birchbox was decent. The makeup products were good and most of the skincare products appealed to me. I just wish I had received my bag on time. I also wish they work on their packaging – it was a box within a box within a box and with bubble wrap, seems like a waste of resources.

Overall verdict:  4 / 5

The following two tabs change content below.
Sangeeta the author behind BeautyNyx hails from the city of Chennai. She has a background in advertising and stumbled into beauty blogging by chance. She has a skin that has a mind of it's own, but that hasn't stopped her from exploring various brands. She loves rambling about things and has a slowly but steadily growing makeup & skincare collection.

Latest posts by Sangeeta G (see all)

You may also like

67 Comments

  1. I receivedy first box a week ago although it was a june subcsription box haha! However,it didn’t stop me from writing my review and I admit I was a little disappointed.

    Yiota
    Pinkdaisyloves.blogspot.com

    1. The eyeliner is really good. When I first swatched it felt very creamy and I had my doubts if it’ll last on my waterline. But after it set, it stayed put forever.

  2. Wow !! I was so upset with this month’s Envy box. Birchboc is in business just because of these kind of products that fills up beauty lovers with excitement. Lively review.. wish you happy stay in US. Make best of your makeup beauty addiction here.😊😊

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge